About Me

My photo
Scotland, United Kingdom
Hi! My name is Kendall, I'm 22, a university student and I'm from Scotland. I'm a Reader, Reviewer, Blogger and occasional YouTuber. Yep, that about sums it up :)

Wednesday, 19 August 2015

UK Blog Tour: The Other Me by Saskia Sarginson!


Publication date: 13th August 2015 (UK paperback)
Paperback edition: 448 pages
Source: Kindle
Rating: 4 
stars
Synopsis: Beautifully written, with a love story at its heart, Saskia Sarginson delivers a psychological and suspenseful novel, perfect for fans of Maggie O’Farrell and Liane Moriarty.

Eliza Bennet has the life she's always dreamed of. She's who she wants to be, and she's with the man she loves. But Eliza is living a lie. Her real name is Klaudia Myer. And Klaudia is on the run. She's escaping her old life, and a terrible secret buried at the heart of her family.

This is the story of Eliza and Klaudia - one girl, two lives and a lie they cannot hide from.

I have to be honest and say that I hadn't heard of this author until I received a surprise package from Little, Brown Book Group with this book and another book in it! This book isn't my typical genre of book, but it sounded awesome when I read the synopsis! The cover is absolutely stunning too! I was then asked to be on the UK Blog Tour and I said yes to a review! I wasn't 100% sure what to expect from this book as it isn't my typical read, but I enjoyed it! It was definetely different to my normal reads and it was totally different to what I was expecting it to be! I didn't expect it to be so different to what I was expecting, but as I said though, I did enjoy it! There was also something about it that made me want to read on and find out what was going to happen next! It felt like the plot followed two different people, but it actually followed one person from a child to their adult life! It was very interesting and I wanted to know more about the mystery aspect! There was also the element of romance in the plot, but it wasn't the main focus! I was really happy it was in there though, as it added a lot to the main character's development! The characters were also awesome and very well developed! I'm not sure what to call the main character, so I'm going to call her Eliza/Klaudia lol! You'll understand why she has two names after you read the book, but I won't say too much about it as it's spoilery and I definitely don't want to give any spoilers away lol! I will tell you that Eliza was the character's name in her adult life up until a certain point, and Klaudia was her name in her childhood! I loved Eliza! She was so freeing and she did what she wanted, meanwhile Klaudia felt trapped and she wasn't allowed to do and experience a lot of things! I felt really sorry for Klaudia, but she did come a long way in this book, even if she did experience a big loss along the way! There were also quite a few secondary characters in this book, like Klaudia's parents and friends, and Eliza's love interest and friends! They all added so much to the plot and Eliza/Klaudia's changes in the book! I had respect for all of them, and especially loved Eliza/Klaudia's love interest, Cosmo! I loved that he never strayed too far from Eliza/Klaudia and I could see that he had deep feelings for her! This book was written from I would say three different point of views! It was written from both Klaudia and Eliza's point of views, but there was a third poinf of view too! The third point of view added a lot to the plot! I can completely understand why this book is a standalone! Everything was wrapped up and all the questions raised in the plot were answered! I also know that this author has some other books out, so I'm going to check them out too and maybe give them a read! Her next release sounds amazing too! As I said, the cover for this book is stunning! It suits the book so well and I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it! It has such a haunted feeling to it, which really suits the feel of the book! Big thank you to Piatkus for an early review copy of The Other Me and for having me on the UK Blog Tour!
 
 
Check it out on Goodreads!
 
(Please click on the Tour Schedule to enlarge it!)
 
Author bio:
 
Saskia Sarginson was awarded a distinction in her MA in Creative Writing at Royal Holloway after a BA in English Literature from Cambridge University and a BA in Fashion Design & Communications. Before becoming a full-time author, Saskia's writing experience included being a health and beauty editor on women's magazines, a ghost writer for the BBC and Harper Collins and copy-writing and script editing. Saskia grew up in a forest in Suffolk and now lives in South London with her four children.
 
 

No comments:

Post a Comment